Lewis Hamilton wins the British GP

At the start, Russell passes as the leader through the 1st turn. Verstappen overtook Norris for 3rd place. Leclerc jumped from the 11th position to the 8th place and started to break through. Gasly had problems again and had to retire.

Russell escaped Hamilton from the DRS zone on lap 3, while Hulkenberg was investigated for gaining an advantage when cutting the track. The order after the 4th lap was: Russell, Hamilton, Verstappen, Norris, Piastri, Sainz, Stroll, Leclerc, Hulkenberg, Alonso.

Leclerc entered Stroll in DRS, while Russell increased his advantage to 1.7 seconds from Hamilton during the 9th lap with the fastest lap, while Piastri entered DRS Norris for 4th place. Hamilton reduced it to 1.4 seconds, but around the 11th lap the drivers received messages that rain was coming.

Leclerc overtook Stroll for 7th place on Lap 14, and Norris passed Verstappen in DRS on the same lap. Norris easily passed Verstappen on the 15th lap and returned to 3rd place. The McLaren driver was then the fastest on the track.

Soon Piastri arrived and overtook Verstappen for 4th place on Lap 17, while Hamilton quickly caught up to Russell and overtook him on Lap 18. Norris then caught Russell and moved to 2nd place, and the rain wet the track.

Norris passed Hamilton on Lap 20 for the lead, while Piastri overtook Russell and then Hamilton on Lap 21. Meanwhile, Leclerc and Perez changed tires. The order after lap 21 was: Norris, Piastri, Hamilton, Russell, Verstappen, Sainz, Hulkenberg, Alonso, Stroll, Tsunoda.

After a short rain, in which several drivers changed tires, it stopped, so they obviously made a mistake with such a decision. Sainz was chasing Verstappen on Lap 26, while Piastri was chasing Norris.

Verstappen, Sainz and Hulkenberg went to the pits for a tire change where they put on intermediate tires. Norris, Hamilton and Russell did the same on the 28th lap. Piastri did the same in the 29th Round. The order after lap 30 was: Norris, Hamilton, Verstappen, Russell, Sainz, Piastri, Hulkenberg, Stroll, Alonso, Tsunoda.

The race for the British Grand Prix was held in changeable conditions where it was dry at the start, and later the rain changed the story, which led to the return of drivers who were in big trouble at the start to fight for the podium.

George Russell had to retire from the race on Lap 34, while Hamilton reduced the gap to Norris to 2.7 seconds on Lap 35. That gap fell to 1.8 seconds in the 38th lap.

Hamilton, Verstappen and Piastri pitted during lap 39, Norris on lap 40. Sainz did the same as Norris. But Hamilton took the lead. Hamilton and Norris were on soft tires, while Verstappen took hard. The order after lap 42 was: Hamilton, Norris, Verstappen, Piastri, Sainz, Hulkenberg, Stroll, Alonso, Tsunoda, Albon.

From the 44th lap, Hamilton held a 2-second advantage over Norris, and the McLaren driver had the same lead over Verstappen, who was 3rd. Verstappen reduced it to 1.3 seconds behind Norris in the 47th lap. And in 48. He entered the DRS and overtook the Briton for 2nd place.

Hamilton had a 3.3 second lead on lap 50 at the top. The Dutchman dropped to 2.8 seconds a lap later, but that was not enough to catch race winner Lewis Hamilton.