Formula 1 teams have made their way to Bahrain to take part in pre-season testing – here’s everything you need to know as the Mercedes-AMG PETRONAS F1 Team and our W15 cars take to the track.

What Is F1 Testing and Why Do We Do It?
Pre-season testing gives F1 teams the first on-track look at their new cars before the actual racing begins.

It gives us and the rest of the grid the chance to put the cars through their paces on track and gain valuable information on their performance to check whether everything is working as it should be.

Testing takes place over three days, with all 10 teams and 20 drivers in action for a total of just 24 hours across the event with only one car per team allowed on track at a time.

The three days give us limited but valuable on-track experience of the car in real life, away from the simulator in Brackley. It is the first time our drivers will get meaningful miles in the cars before the first race of the season, the following week.

For the team who have worked tirelessly on the car, it is a chance to see it come to life but also to collect data and information to help inform any potential changes further into the season.

Testing gives every team the chance to finetune their skills before the season-opener at the same circuit in Bahrain next weekend.

When and Where Is F1 Testing?

Pre-season testing this year takes place in Bahrain at the Bahrain International Circuit, Sakhir from 21-23 February.

Wednesday, 21 February

  • Session 1: 10:00 AST (07:00 GMT) – 14:00 (11:00 GMT)
  • Lunch: 14:00 AST (11:00 GMT) – 15:00 AST (12:00 GMT)
  • Session 2: 15:00 AST (12:00 GMT) – 19:00 (16:00 GMT)

Thursday, 22 February

  • Session 1: 10:00 AST (07:00 GMT) – 14:00 (11:00 GMT)
  • Lunch: 14:00 AST (11:00 GMT) – 15:00 AST (12:00 GMT)
  • Session 2: 15:00 AST (12:00 GMT) – 19:00 (16:00 GMT)

Friday, 23 February

  • Session 1: 10:00 AST (07:00 GMT) – 14:00 (11:00 GMT)
  • Lunch: 14:00 AST (11:00 GMT) – 15:00 AST (12:00 GMT)
  • Session 2: 15:00 AST (12:00 GMT) – 19:00 (16:00 GMT)

Source and more info : Mercedes-AMG PETRONAS F1