Mercedes’ George Russell wins the Sao Paulo Grand Prix sprint race!

Mercedes driver George Russell celebrated in the last sprint race of this Formula 1 season and thus won the pole position before the Brazilian Grand Prix, the penultimate round of this year’s championship.

The Briton triumphed on the “Interlagos” track ahead of Carlos Sainz Jr. and his teammate Lewis Hamilton. The seven-time world champion will be in second position at the start of Sunday’s race, as the Spaniard was penalized by moving up five positions.

With his triumph, Russell also prevented champion Max Verstappen from winning all three sprint races this season, as the Dutchman had previously won in Imola and at the Red Bull Ring. The Red Bull driver took fourth place in Brazil, ahead of teammate Sergio Perez, but the two will be on the second starting row due to Sainz’s penalty.